Snakes & Ladders – Kick Start

I have created my own digital Snakes & Ladders game using subtraction. You need to subtract before you stay in a place on the board. But wait! To play my edition of Snakes & Ladders, you need to solve the problem in under 3 seconds(to make it more difficult, double digits are to be subtracted!). I can share you in if you want to play this edition!

Did you know? Snakes & Ladders was supposed to be a moral education for children. The squares that had ladders, represented virtues. The squares that had snakes, represented evil. Completing this game represented a successful life’s journey.


What do you like / dislike about Snakes & Ladders, and why?

Please write a positive comment down below!

6 thoughts on “Snakes & Ladders – Kick Start

  1. Kia ora Jamie, Your incredible friend Swaimah’s here! I really love your vision of the kick start Snakes and ladders activity. I see you probably added lots of effort towards a Snakes and ladders board. It played your board with my brother and I won this time. I really enjoyed playing your snakes and ladders board. I think you did an awesome!

    What I like abour snakes and ladders is sometimes you can get real good high jumps in the game with the ladders. Sometimes you get a bad chance and you go low again by the snakes. I love snakes and ladders so much!

    Question

    What do you like about snakes and ladders?
    Would you try out your OWN board?

    Your friend, Swaimah <3

    1. Kia Ora Swaimah
      thanks for your awesome comment! That’s great you played with your brother and won, I knew you would win after playing on your Kick Start board! I like Snakes & Ladders too when I climb the board quick and high, but I really don’t like it when I land on a snake. I think the snake poops us out after eating us.. Why do you think we slide down a snake?

      I have tried my board once on the subtraction choice, and I’m not sure if I told you this already, but of course I won😆
      Have a GREAT day, and a Merry Merry Christmas with your family!!
      Your friend, Jamie <3

  2. Kia ora Jamie,

    What a tricky board to play and to have to answer the questions in under 3 seconds. What a workout for the brain. Did you find it tricky to answer so quickly?

    Thank you for including the rules in the description, this is especially important for anyone viewing your blog that has never played Snakes and Ladders.

    I did not know that it was made to be a moral game for children although now you have explained it, that makes a lot of sense. The ladders are the successes, the snakes are the times you fail or get knocked back and you have to get back up and keep going. Eventually you’ll get to the end if you continue to try. What a great metaphor for life.

    What is your favourite board game?

    Anna
    SLJ

    1. Kia Ora Anna
      thank you for commenting on my blog! It wasn’t tricky at all, entirely because of the questions asked. I feel like the moral game of Snakes & Ladders makes it even better(fun?) to play, do you agree?

      My favorite board games are Snakes & Ladders, Scrabble, Chess and many more which I cannot name at this moment.
      Thank you for asking these questions, have a great day and a happy New Year!!
      Jamie

      1. Kia ora Jamie,

        I just responded to another comment of yours. I told you a wonderful story I learnt from someone about the moral of Snakes and Ladders and guess who it was that taught me. It was you. I have told so many kids that piece of information because I find it so interesting so thank you for sharing it with me.

        I love all those games too. I like to think I’m pretty good at scrabble but my chess could use some work. Did you know there is a girl named Bodhana Sivanandan who is from London and she is only 8 years old and is already on her way to being a Grand Master. She recently won the European Blitz championship making her the best female chess player in Europe and she is only 8. How awesome is that?
        I wonder how she became so good at chess?

        Anna
        SLJ

        1. Kia Ora Anna
          thank you for commenting on my blog! It was a great moral for me too, so thank you for sharing it with everyone else.

          I think I saw Bodhana on the news, but I didn’t know she won the European Blitz championship!? That is very cool, and inspires everyone( especially those young) that you can do anything no matter what age, gender, and whatever else you are!

          I think she has gotten really good at Chess because someone taught her from a very young age, or maybe she has a winning strategy!

          Thank you for replying to my comment, have a lovely day and the rest of your holiday, God bless you and your family!
          Jamie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *