Snakes & Ladders – Step-It-Up!

I have created another Snakes & Ladders game but this time.. Multiplication Edition! I really enjoyed this activity, especially when I played against my brother(and won!). Did you know Snakes & Ladders was made by Saint Gyandev and was used to be called Mokshapat?

The first slide was a game with my brother. He started off in the lead, and I went down one snake. In the end, I won.

The second slide is my custom game. I changed the colour of the blue squares into red. I used mixed multiplication and division, for a bit more of a challenge.

Have you tried this activity, and did you enjoy it as much as I did?


Please comment down below, and have a 🌟 Merry Christmas!!🎄

10 thoughts on “Snakes & Ladders – Step-It-Up!

  1. Salam Jamie, Swaimah here! I really love the fact that you added some easy and simple multiplacation equations. I love how easy it is to just figure out the answers to the basic facts equation. I played this board with my mum and she won obviously. She told me you made an amazing board for us to play!

    I did try out this activity on my blog. I posted it a bit late because I came back from the park. I think I enjoyed it as much as you really did. It looked like you had lots of fun making this board for others to play on.

    Your friend, Swaimah <3

    1. Salam Swaimah
      thanks for your thoughtful comment! It’s okay if you didn’t win, you can always try again and you know in your mind I’m cheering for you, I just don’t know it yet! Thank you for playing my board game with your mum, I hope you enjoyed it as much as I did. Did you know yesterday I came back from the park too? What a lucky coincidence!! Have a lovely day, and a Merry Christmas🎄 with your family! <3
      Your friend, Jamie

  2. Talofa Lava Jaime

    Estherose here! I love that you did a multiplication edition as well as division too. I like the way you added quite a challenge against your brother, challenging his mind and striving to win. I would love to play this game with my brother. You have done an outstanding job as well putting a lot of effort in this activity.

    Have a blessed day and a Merry Christmas to you and your family!
    -Estherose

    1. Talofa Esther
      thank you for your lovely comment! If I didn’t add a challenge it would be WAY too easy for us. Have you done this activity, Esther? I agree that your brother would like to play this game with you too. Keep up the good work Esther, and have a Merry Christmas with your family::
      Your friend, Jamie

  3. Kia ora Jamie,

    I have seen you commenting on lots of blogs which is magnificent to see. I hope you are submitting all those questions for points. Do you notice that when you comment on other peoples blogs they tend to pop in and comment on yours? Keep up all the awesome commenting Jamie.

    I love the personalized pink board. What a cool touch. You included some tricky equations. Did you consider playing your board against your brother? It might have been more of a challenge for the both of you. Also getting past that last snake might have proven difficult. Imagine getting that close to the end and having to slide all the way back to the bottom almost. That would be frustrating wouldn’t it.

    What interesting information you included in your description. I didn’t know any of that. The name of the game and the inventor lead me to believe he was from a non English speaking country. I suspected somewhere in Eastern Europe maybe but after a bit of research I learnt he was from India.

    I have played Snakes and Ladders before and I really enjoy it. I like how people of all ages can play and enjoy.

    Anna
    SLJ

    1. Kia Ora Anna
      thank you for commenting on my blog! I do make sure I submit all my comments for points. I agree with you that when I comment on other people’s blogs they comment on mine. I remember checking out a person’s blog because they commented a lot on the SLJ activities, and I started commenting on theirs. I decided to add “Your friend, Jamie” because I thought of this person(I haven’t met in real life) as a friend. They started to do that too, and I felt really happy.

      I added some tricky equations so that my brother and I could have a challenge. To add more of a challenge, you would be timed, and if you took longer than 3 seconds you didn’t progress up the board! I have played the kick start addition activity with my brother and it wasn’t surprising who won! I also added the last snake for tenseness, which was especially made for my opponent and my fun. It is great that we share a liking for Snakes & Ladders.
      Thank you for these questions, have a great day and a happy New Year!!
      Jamie

      1. Kia ora Jamie,

        That is a really special connection you have made with a fellow blogger. I imagine you guys have learnt lots from each other’s blogs, maybe without even knowing it.

        Good thinking adding in the extra challenges. It’s always fun when there is an extra challenge. I read on somebody’s blog (not sure whose) that the game was designed to teach kids about the highs and lows of life. The ladder being the successes and the snakes being the failures or setbacks. The moral being if you stick at it, you’ll get to the end. I really liked that story.

        What is your favourite board game Jamie?
        Anna
        SLJ

        1. Kia Ora Anna
          thank you for replying to my comment! I agree with you that the moral is very deep, and that we have learnt lots from each other’s blogs!
          My favorite board game is Guess Who (if that is a board game), Chess and many more.

          Thanks so much for replying, have a lovely day and the rest of your holiday and God bless you and your family!!
          Jamie

          1. Good afternoon Jamie,

            What a speedy response. What do you think the purpose of morals are? A story I remember hearing as a kid was The Boy Who Cried Wolf. Do you remember that story. That moral always stuck with me. Is there a story with a moral that has stuck with you?

            I love Guess Who. It is such a fun game to play. There are a lot more games out now than there were when I was a child but the classics are classics for a reason. Have you ever heard of the game Yahtzee? I loved that game a lot as a kid too.

            Ka pai to ra Jamie,
            Anna
            SLJ

  4. Kia Ora Anna
    thank you for replying to my comment. The replies are so long I have to make another comment! I think the purpose of morals are to teach people something good( in a story too).

    A moral that has stuck with me is from my dad, he said ‘don’t say anything if you have nothing good to say.’ I’m not really sure if that is a good moral, but if you were to follow that moral literally, for example you have bad (but important!) news to tell your boss, you wouldn’t be able to say it and would have to lie. My mum always says that I am like the boy who cried wolf but sometimes I can’t help it..

    No, I have never heard of the game Yahtzee before, I will go check it out!

    Thank you so much for commenting a lot this SLJ Anna, have a lovely rest of your holiday and year, God bless you and your family!!
    Jamie

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *